North-Eastern Hill University (NEHU) was set up by an Act of Parliament and notified on 19th July 1973. The objectives of the University, as laid down in the act, are “to disseminate and advance knowledge by providing instructional and research facilities in such branches of learning as it may deem fit; to pay special attention to the improvement of the social and economic conditions with aim to provide welfare of the people of the hill areas of the North-Eastern region, and in particular, the intellectual, academic and cultural advancement”. In spite of constraints of communication and the lack of infrastructure facilities in the region, NEHU has established itself as an important institution of higher learning and research of high quality. Various departments of the University receive special grants from UGC under its Special Assistance Programme (SAP). Apart from UGC grants, a large number of research projects have been awarded to individual faculty members by various national and international funding agencies such as DST, DBT, ICMR, CSIR, ICSSR, MoEF, DAE and Ford foundation to date. NEHU has around 1800 students applying for various Master’s, M.Phil and Ph.D degrees with faculty strength of over 500 members. At present there are approximately hundred undergraduate colleges affiliated to the University including ten professional colleges with enrolment of about 50,000 students. Thus, in a short span of about 45 years NEHU has matured into an institution with a serious academic, social and cultural agenda with a clear vision for its future growth.